



Oceania Nepali Sports Meet Sydney 2018 Results

4th Oceania Nepali Sports Meet - Sydney 2018 has been a historical sporting event for people of Nepali origin living in various states of Australia and in countries of Oceania region. There was competitive, yet social sports played in various age categories among Men, Women, Boys & Girls in following Sports during Easter Break (March 30, 31 and April 1 and 2, 2018).

800 plus athletes and **hundreds** of volunteers of Nepali origin from around the Oceania region conversed to **11** different venues in Sydney, taking part in **32** sub-categories of **9** sports categories over **4** days of intense sporting activities. A new milestone has been set in the Nepalese sporting history as the biggest sports gathering for people of Nepali origin outside Nepal. It has been a great event and all categories of sports have now been successfully completed.

Congratulations to all the winners & runner-ups and sincere thanks to all players & their families, volunteers, sponsors, associate organisations and media partners who made this event a grand success.

The next Oceania Nepali Sports Meet, 5th in the series, will be hosted by the capital of Australia, ACT in 2020. Congratulations Team ACT and see you all there in 2020.

Below is the medal tally and tournament results for each sports category:

Medal Tally

State / Country	Gold	Silver	Bronze	Total	
NSW	16.5	22	17.5	56	
VIC	13.5	7	3	23.5	
QLD	2	1	1	4	2
NZ	2	0	1.5	3.5	
SA	0	3	0	3	
ACT	0	1	2	3	
NT	0	0	0	0	
PNG	0	0	0	0	
TAS	0	0	0	0	
WA	0	0	0	0	
Total	34	34	25	93	

Badminton

Under 15:	Winner	1st Runner Up	2nd Runner Up
	Anuska Pokhrel (VIC)	Aryan Pokhrel (VIC)	Siyona Shah (VIC)
Mix Doubles:	Sanjeev Khadka &	Bigyan Kandel &	Buddha Maharjan &
	Arya Pokhrel (VIC)	Mega Chand (VIC)	Surja Maharjan (NSW)
Over 45 Doubles:	Naresh Tamrakar &	Sanjay Shrestha &	Samsher Thapa &
	Tim Tiwari (NSW)	Sitaram Joshi (NSW)	Pratap Shrestha (NSW)
Over 45 Singles:	Sanjay Shrestha (NSW)	Tim Tiwari (NSW)	Deepak Dangol (NSW)
Ladies Singles:	Mega Chand (VIC)	Ayesha Pokhrel (VIC)	Arya Pokhrel (VIC)
Master's Singles:	Deepak Regmi (QLD)	Lizan Maskey (NSW)	Pratap Shrestha (NSW)
Men's Open Doubles:	Nishchal Khatri &	Tusli Ojha &	Kesh Gurung (NZ) &
	Mandeep Shrestha (NSW)	Himal Kunwar (NSW)	Lizan Maskey (NSW)
Men's Open Singles:	Sanjay Khadka (VIC)	Himal Kunwar (NSW)	Kesh Gurung (NZ)

Basketball

Champion Team NSW Blue (Buzzers)

Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Tournament Sudarshan Raj Shahi Team NSW Blue (Buzzers)

Highest Scorer Ashim Shrestha Team SA (Wild Yaks)

Cricket

Champion **NSW Blue**

Grand Final - Man of the Match Govind Karki (Team NSW Blue)

Man of the Series Anup Oli (Team NSW Blue)

Golf

Runner Up Team SA (Wild Yaks)

Runner Up **MVP of the Tournament** Raju Gurung Team NSW Blue (Buzzers)

Runner Up Highest Scorer Kunga Sherpa Team SA (Wild Yaks)

Fair Play Team Team ACT

Best Defensive Player Raju Gurung **Team NSW Blue** (Buzzers)

Best Point Gaurd Kunga Sherpa Team SA (Wild Yaks)

Runner Up Team Victoria

Sunam Gautam (Team Victoria) **Best Batsman of the Series** Ashish Pandey (Team NSW Green)

2nd Semi Final - Man of the Match 1st Semi Final - Man of the Match Anup Oli (Team NSW Blue) Best Bowler of the Series Anup Oli (Team NSW Blue)

	Longest Drive	Nearest to the pin	
Skills:	Tapan <mark>Sharma (QLD)</mark>	Padam Rai (QLD)	
	Winner	Runner Up	1st Runner Up
Novice:	Pranab Mainali (NSW)	Binod Tamang (VIC)	
Handicap Back9:	Madhu Pok <mark>hrel (VIC)</mark>	Ashton Gurung (QLD)	
Handicap Front9:	Ram Thapa (<mark>NSW)</mark>	Deepak Khadka (NSW)	
Handicap Overall:	Sajan Tamamg <mark>(VIC)</mark>	Sudeep Bastola (NSW)	Raju Devkota (NSW)
Open:	Tapan Sharma (QLD)	Shashank Koirala (NSW)	Gyandata Pokhrel (NSW)

Lawn Tennis

Open Men's Single:	Winner Milan Rokaya (NSW)	1st Runner Up Binit Shrestha (VIC)	2nd Runner Up Suman Neupane (NSW)
Master's 35+ Men's Single:	Sandeep Bhandari (VIC)	Rajendra Karki (VIC)	Raju Adhikari (NSW)
U15 Junior's Single:	Denzel Tchring Gurung (NZ)	Kunal Pradhan (NSW)	Mason Shah (NSW)
Men's Open Double:	Jyoti Rajbhandari (NSW) Binit Shrestha (VIC)	Bishnu Hamal (NSW) Raju Adhikari (NSW)	Suman Neupane (NSW) Dilip Bharati (NSW)

Soccer

	Champion	1st Runner Up
All Age:	Team NSW (Beni FC)	Team SA
35+:	Team NSW (Machhapuchhre FC)	Team NSW (St. George Nepalese FC)
	Best Player of the Tournament	Best Goal Keeper of the Tournament
All	Bikash Gauchan	Vibek Adhikari
Age:	Team NSW (Beni FC)	Team NSW (Beni FC)
35+:	Dinesh Amatya Team NSW (St. George Nepalese FC)	Binod Maharjan & Niraj Shrestha Team NSW (Machhapuchhre FC)
	Man of the Match	Highest Scorer
All	Bishal Magar	Sabin KC
Age:	Team SA	Team NSW (Beni FC)
35+:	Rohit Thakali Team NSW (Machha <mark>puchh</mark> re FC)	R <mark>ohit</mark> Thakali Team NSW (Machhapuchhre FC)

Table Tennis

Table Termis		SUBTS Days	
Men's Single Over 35:	Winner	1st Runner Up	2nd Runner Up
	Kuldeep Pradhan(NSW)	Suresh Shrestha(NSW)	Raju Subba (NSW)
Men's Single Open:	Atul Shrestha (VIC)	Nihal S <mark>hrest</mark> ha (NSW)	Krijal Koju (NSW)
Ladies Single:	Erika Maharjan <mark>(VIC)</mark>	Reeta G <mark>C (N</mark> SW)	Karuna Dawadi (NSW)
Men's Double:	Atul <mark>Shres</mark> tha (VIC)	Nihal Shrestha (NSW)	Pritam Awal (QLD)
wen's Double.	Anupa <mark>m Shr</mark> estha (VIC)	Krijal K <mark>oju (</mark> NSW)	Suman Poudel (QLD)
Mixed Double:	Sandip <mark>Duwwal</mark> (VIC)	Kuldeep Pradhan (NSW)	Ashim Khadka (VIC)
	Erika Mah <mark>arjan (VIC</mark>)	Karuna Dawadi (NSW)	Shikha Basnet (VIC)

Volleyball

Winner	Bunner Lin	Best Player	Best Spiker	Best Setter
Team NSW	Runner Up Team NSW (MONA Australia)	Binod Kaucha	Hom Bhandari	Khem Purja
(Chhantyal Pariwar)		Team NSW	Team NSW	Team NSW
		(Chhantyal	(MONA	(MONA
		Pariwar)	Australia)	Australia)

5KM Run

	Winner	1st Runner Up	2nd Runner Up
Girls Under 12:	Rhecha Pathak (NSW)	Regina Shakya (NSW) Palpasa Shrestha (NSW)	Prisha Pradhan (NSW)
Boys Under 12:	Aryan Pokhrel (VIC)	Ashesh Adhikari (SA)	
Girls Under 25:	Ayesha Pokhrel (VIC)	Ava Singh (NSW) Bianca Baniya (NSW)	Pallavi Shrestha (NSW)
Boys Under 25:	Aalok Paudel (NZ)	Robin Paudayal (NSW)	Dubin Kandel (ACT)
Mens Under 45:	Meuhang Munangko (NSW)	Raju Maharjan (ACT)	Shekhar Sharma Pantha (ACT)
Mens Over 45:	Rabindra Bhandari (NSW)	Goba Katuwal (NSW)	Ganesh Shrestha (NSW)
Women Over 25:	Romi Neupane (NSW)	Laxmi Shrestha (NSW)	Anju Pandey (NSW)